UE: The 2007 revised text of the Lugano Convention has entered into force on January 1, 2010.

Carlotta Mazzetti | EU | 2010-02-15

Carlotta Mazzetti

View CV

The revised Lugano Convention on Jurisdiction and Enforcement of Judgements in Civil and Commercial Matters has been ratified from the European Community on May 18, 2009, with effect for all its member States with the exception of Denmark, who followed on 24 September 2009. On 1st July 2009 the Kingdom of Norway ratified the Convention too.

The revised Lugano Convention is therefore entered into force between the European Community and Norway on 1st January 2010 (see Art 79 par. 4).
The ratifications of Switzerland and Iceland are still outstanding, therefore the 1988 Lugano Convention still applies in the relations between European Community and these countries.

A significative innovation of this Convention is the extension of its territorial scope of application to eleven new EU member states (Czech Republic, Cyprus, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary, Malta, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Bulgaria and Rumania), that weren’t members of the 1988 Lugano Convention.



IDI Editorial Board



The text of the 2007 Lugano Convention and the status of its ratifications can be found in the International Conventions Section of the IDI website.

Print this article